top of page

Why the sudden interest in Nonprofits?


Upon coming to Appalachian State to get my Undergraduate degree I had always thought I wanted to come to college, get a degree and then work for a company where I had an office and a desk. Last semester I ended up enrolled in an IDS Social Media and Community Engagement class and a major part of our grade in this class was paring with a local nonprofit in Boone and doing a community engagement project, however it was we chose to do that. After working with the nonprofit GreenStreet Catering for a majority of the semester and seeing how they engage with the community and the work that they are able to do to help those in need in the community I immediately became interested and thought to myself this is something I would enjoy doing. I had talked to my professor about this as a career option and he suggested I minor in Nonprofit Management, great idea, except this was my senior year and I had already completed my required minor. However, lucky enough for me, my Communication Studies degree will likely be sufficient enough for me to hopefully get the opportunity to work for a Nonprofit one day.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page